Deakin Logo

Celebrating Student Success and Community - DRS Awards 2021

  • Blog
  • 4 min read
  • Posted October 2021

Kean Selway (Deakin University Chief Operating Officer) and award recipient Paris Van den Herik
Kean Selway (Deakin University Chief Operating Officer) and award recipient Paris Van den Herik

On 28 September, Deakin Res students, staff, family members and University leaders gathered virtually to celebrate students who excelled throughout 2021, including academic high achievers, Residential Leaders, and those who made significant contributions to the residential community across our multiple campuses. 

In a testament to the value that Deakin University places on Student Experience and Engagement, Deakin Res CEO Vincent Wilson was joined for the event by Deakin’s Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin, Chief Operating Officer Kean Selway and Chief Financial Officer Kerrie Parker. 

Award recipients joined live from across our four campuses and around the country, and audience members showed their support through comments shared via the interactive virtual awards platform.  

CEO Vincent Wilson said,

The 2021 awards event was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the incredible achievements of Deakin’s residential students, and our respectful and inclusive communities on campus. Whilst the awards may have been virtual this year, it was lovely to see so many smiling faces and hear from our students throughout the event.

In his address to the winners and audience, Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin outlined the importance of the Residential community in providing support for fellow students, maintaining on-campus vibrancy, and in fostering our future leaders. He said,

Over and over again, what I hear from our staff and students in our residences is how important the community of peer support and friendship has been, and if anything, that’s been more important over the last 12 months than in past years.

Importantly, our award recipients felt well recognised despite the virtual platform, and were delighted by the messages from peers, family and University leaders alike.  

Paris Van den Herik, RESPECT Values award recipient from Waurn Ponds said, 

A huge congratulations to all the award recipients. Also a massive thank you to the team behind the event. It was one of the best online presentations I have witnessed, and I commend you highly on the time and effort that was put into the afternoon. Thank you for providing the opportunity for family and friends to also witness the presentation. Having family interstate myself, this was sincerely appreciated.

And Abdulqawiyu (Papa) Abdulraheem, the recipient from Waterfront Campus, shared that,  

Coming to Australia was the best decision I've ever made, living on DRS as an international student was the second best. Forever grateful ❤. 

Fittingly, the awards were presented to the students live by Deakin Residential Services board members Kean Selway and Kerrie Parker, who were truly impressed by the resilience and leadership shown by members of the Res community during a difficult year.  

Congratulations to all our award recipients for 2021! 

Emerging Leader Award 

  • Daniella Prezioso, Burwood  

  • Alexi Ginis, Waurn Ponds   

  • Zarli Sanders, Waterfront   

  • Jackson Cardona , Lui Kennedy, Tom Mott and Joe Parsons, Warrnambool    

Leadership Award 

  • Eliza Osborn, Burwood   

  • Daryl Mawere, Waurn Ponds   

  • Sharna Jenkins, Waterfront   

  • Sheridan Finn, Warrnambool   

RESPECT Values Award 

  • Jarrod Hurst, Burwood   

  • Paris Van den Herik, Waurn Ponds   

  • Abdulqawiyu (Papa )Abdulraheem, Waterfront   

  • Hannah Slattery, Warrnambool 

Academic Award - Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment 

  • Amy Edwards, Waurn Ponds  

  • Faith Howland, Burwood  

  • Tom Mott, Warrnambool  

  • Angus Caithness, Waterfront 

Academic Award - Faculty of Arts and Education 

  • Chloe Leonard, Waurn Ponds  

  • Carina Ene, Burwood  

  • Sheridan Finn, Warrnambool  

  • Sofya Shcherbak, Waterfront 

Academic Award - Faculty of Business and Law 

  • Marnie Gray, Waurn Ponds  

  • Eliza Osborn, Burwood  

  • Thomas Millard, Waterfront 

Academic Award - Faculty of Health 

  • Sandra Joseph, Waurn Ponds  

  • Max Steel, Burwood  

  • Marnath Pel-Kun, Warrnambool  

  • Mae Williamson, Waterfront 

Watch the full awards ceremony here:

Written by

Profile photo of author Sam Johnstone
Sam Johnstone Manager, Experience and Engagement

Sam Johnstone is Manager, Experience and Engagement at Deakin Residential Services. With a background in engagement and student experience roles across Deakin and the wider Higher Education sector, Sam is passionate about supporting students to reach their full potential.

Deakin Residential Services

Our purpose is to sustainably deliver an innovative and outstanding student accommodation experience.

Sign up to our newsletter

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the unceded lands and waterways on which Deakin University does business. We pay our deep respect to the Ancestors and Elders of Wadawurrung Country, Eastern Maar Country and Wurundjeri Country where our physical campuses are located. We also acknowledge all First Nations Peoples that make contributions to our learning communities.

© Copyright Deakin University 2023. Deakin University CRICOS Provider Code: 00113B.